Foundation Friday: A Matte Foundation for Dry Skin?

Hey friends!

Today I have a new (to me) foundation to discuss!

I was looking through my sample stash of makeup that I’ve acquired over the last few months, when I found a few shades of Dior Forever Wear High Perfection Skin-Caring Matte Foundation SPF 35.

Screen Shot 2019-05-01 at 7.56.49 AM

 

Image Source: Nordstrom.com

I ended up mixing the shades 3N and 4N in a 1-to-1 ratio, as well as my Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Concealer to further brighten.

Specs: 

  • Claims to provide medium-to-full coverage that stays flawless for up to 24 hours
  • Velvety matte finish
  • Dior recommends for Normal, Dry. Oily, and Combo Skin
  • 1oz is $52.00 USD
  • 28 Shades Available categorized by 6 different undertones

Highlighted Ingredients:

  • Pansy Extract Hydration Booster
  • Rose Hip Extract

 

My Sample: (I misplaced the top of the 3N, so it isn’t very photogenic)

IMAGE 2019-05-01 08:39:19

 

**It looks like Dior updated the formula on this recently, I’ve never tried either so I can’t provide any personal comparisons between the old vs. new.**

Screen Shot 2019-05-01 at 8.09.32 AM

Image Source: Nordstrom.com

 


My skin has been on the dry side the past few months and I’m going on my 3rd month of a prescription retinol. However, it has been getting HOT and humid here in Tennessee (as I write this, the high today was 86 degrees with over 50% humidity!) WOOF! As summer gets closer and closer, I’ve been noticing that my dewy foundations haven’t been looking so great after a few hours of wear (mostly just in the T-Zone). I’m not sure if this is my skin adjusting more to the retinol, or if I’m on a good moisturizing regimen, or if the humidity is just making me a little bit more oily?

Regardless, I wanted to use a more matte foundation to see how it would hold up for me!

I really didn’t know what to expect with this product, the only 2 foundations I’ve ever tried from Dior have been 2 totally different experiences: I absolutely LOVE Dior Airflash Spray Foundation, but the Dior Backstage Face & Body Foundation was horrendous on me.


I’ve applied this foundation with both a sponge and foundation brush — I found the brush applied the product MUCH easier. The sponge made it a little bit harder to work with and took about twice as long to blend out. It tends to set up relatively fast, so I would recommend applying this foundation in sections—it’s not one that you want to dot all over your face before blending.

The consistency of the liquid is a little bit more on the thick side. If you put a drop on your hand (I always do this test), it won’t move much or run down.

Small Drop to Get an Idea of the Consistency: (I lightened it with concealer for a better shade match–this is 4N)

IMAGE 2019-04-30 18:02:22

 

I was really surprised how lightweight it felt and looked on my skin once I got it completely applied– I was able to build it to full coverage using a brush. It’s definitely not a foundation that feels uncomfortable or mask-like. It also has a very subtle scent of sunscreen, but that dissipates very quickly once it gets blended out.

The final look was SO PRETTY– I couldn’t believe how even it made my skin look! My fine lines also looked minimized (I’m about 2 months overdue for Botox), and it didn’t emphasize any dry areas. The finish is just a really natural soft matte look. I didn’t have any cakey areas in my “trouble” zones — near my nose and forehead.

Such a beautiful finish!

Photos Taken in Natural Sunlight at 1:52PM– about 1.5 Hours After Initial Application: 

 

I ventured out in the heat for a few hours for errands, so I was really curious to see how it was going to hold up!


Here’s my mid-day check-in, a little over 4 hours of wear:

  • You can start to see some “dew” after being out that afternoon. Pores are a little bit more visible, but the coverage is holding strong with no cake! No touch ups needed.

IMAGE 2019-05-01 06:05:14

 

Here’s the 8PM check-in — Total of 8 hours of wear. You can see I have some shiny areas, and it was broken apart near my jawline. I have a horrible habit of resting my chin on my hand, so this happens more often than not!

 

This foundation really surprised me! I didn’t feel the need to touch up or powder all day. My pores really didn’t get much worse or more visible after the mid-day check in. I also didn’t have issues with texture/scarring being emphasized. The foundation didn’t break apart anywhere else except near the chin, which was because of my horrible face-touching habit. It’s a REALLY gorgeous foundation, and it just perfects the complexion without weighing you down.

This one was a winner for me–I’m picking it up for summer!

 

………..Wait, am I a matte foundation person now?

 

 


 

Has anyone tried this magic before? People with dry/normal(ish) skin: what other matte-foundations do you love? SHARE IN THE COMMENTS!!

 

Thank you so much

xo

Jena

 


 

 

FTC: This post is NOT sponsored and all opinions are honest and my own. I used samples of this product. Some images are sourced from http://www.nordstrom.com. Some links are affiliate– Thank you for your support!

2 thoughts on “Foundation Friday: A Matte Foundation for Dry Skin?

Leave a comment